I know, I know.  I’ve been away.  Well, not away, but quiet.  Life has a habit of piling a lot more onto your plate than you asked for, and sometime you just need to focus all of your attention on eating – figuratively speaking of course.  I have some mixed feelings about my absence.  On the one hand I feel like I really needed to take a break lest I completely burned out and decided not to write as The Sarcastic Caveman ever again.  It’s good to set one’s hobbies aside from time to time.  When your fun starts to feel like an obligation, step back.  

TR_grin

Teddy approves.

On the other hand, I feel guilty that I may have left some of you high and dry.  It didn’t occur to me until about a month ago that I might have  actually succeeded in my goal of inspiring people to get healthy and fit.  I’ve come to realize that I did make a difference.  People around me are eating better and starting to exercise regularly.  A friend of mine named Natalia recently started eating Paleo and doing Crossfit.  She told me that I had been one of her inspirations.  It took me a while to process what that really meant.  Whether this blog had motivated her, or just seeing my transformation first hand, she didn’t say and I didn’t ask.  Doesn’t really matter.

For much of my life I’ve looked to other people for motivation, but it never occurred to me that I could possibly be a source of it myself.  I started this blog on the pretense that I wanted to help people by being brutally honest and sometimes downright nasty about the harsh truths of health, fitness, and life.  Truthfully, I started The Sarcastic Caveman to keep me personally motivated.  I don’t want to ever go back to being the unhealthy slob I used to be.  If that means I need to let the world watch me pep-talk myself in the mirror I’m fine with that.. 

So.  Here we are.  It’s 2013.  I’m sure many of you are making resolutions to get in shape this year.  Guess what?  Most of you are going to fail.  And most of those who do fail will do so in the first six weeks.  You’ll fail for a very simple reason.  You’ll fail because you don’t want to get fit.  You want to be fit.  You want to skip over all the hard work and sweat that will earn you the body and the life you want.  But that’s the catch.  If you don’t work for it, you won’t value it.  Yes, it will be hard.  Yes, you will suffer through sugar-detox and wake up with aches and pains the day after a heavy workout.  Yes, it will suck.  But it will be worth it.  It’s taken me a very long time to get to the point where I’m comfortable saying this.  It’s very simple.  

If you are not willing to push through the pain – if you are not willing to keep going through that personal hell – then you don’t deserve to be fit.  

And you know it.

Yoda is disappointedThat is why you fail.

